‘Telecommuting’-working from home and in contact with office via computers-is becoming common in many countries.How is society affected by the growth of telecommuting?Is it a positive or negative development?

Inspite of the substancial growth of technology and communication over the last 10 years, there is always a prevailing arguement if it is an advantage or disadvantage to the society. The intervention of telecommuting has however gained lot of positive reponses especially during the pandemic and it has become the new normal. Personally, I believe that telecommuting has a postive impact on the society which I shall explain by penning down the advantages and disadvantages. Now-a-days due to the easy affordability of data plans and networks, telecommuting has definitely become a hassle-free option to go to. One of the undeniable fact is that working from home was the only fuel that kept the businesses on track during the detrimental pandemic and lockdown situation. Connecting virtually, the employers were able to work from home safely. Not only does working from home has the advantage of flexibility of hours and a sophisticated environment, but also, it eventually reduces the need for transportation leading to lesser environmental impact. Though Telecommuting has a lot of positives in the list, there are also some downsides. The privacy of the business or the company has become a major concern, as they might have to share their network to be easily accesed by their empoloyees. The conundrum is that, there might be a higher chance of illicit access to data and files while spreading their WAN to a wider area. Analysing the pros and cons, my conclusion is that Telecommuting leans more towards the positive side and its scope might increase if the counter-advantages are addressed.