Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value the quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few companies prefer their employees in smart or formal clothing, while on the other hand, few claim that the work ethic outweighs the outlook of the employees. In my opinion, the dressing of a person need not have a major impact on his/her work environment within the organisation, if he/she is skilled enough in their respective work. A major advantage of formal dress up is that the employee looks professional and can create a good impression at their clients which results in a good reputation for the organisation. Even if we see any organisation like Google, for instance, all the employees seem to be professional and well dressed. This shows the clients and customers that the people within the company are dedicated towards their role as an employee. Any company would prefer the people that work under them to look decent in order to grab the attention of clients. They believe that smart the appearance, smarter the work. On the other hand, though smart apperance makes them look professional, it doesn't reflect the skills and knowledge that a employee has mastered. Few argue that not every one who wears casual clothes to office are not workaholic. Take Mark Zuckerburg, the CEO of Facebook, for example, wears a similar T-shirt every time he steps out, but we all know how skillful he actually is. I conclusion, Having considered both pros and cons, I strongly believe that the work ethic of the employees outweighs their appearance. Though few organisations put out rules asking the workers to wear formals, it has nothing to do with their knowledge and quality of work.