Telecommuting is becoming the way of the future. Discuss the pros and cons of this tendency.

These past few weeks, the world has been tested to its limits, with the covid-19 outbreak. This has forced most of us to stay in our houses, in order to prevent its spread. So, a lot of individuals have started telecommuting in order to continue their jobs. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative aspects of this trend. On the one hand, not all individuals can work from home, which in cases, like the one we are living at the moment, can create unemployment. For example, people that are hired in the service and construction sector cannot work through the internet, because their job requires their presence in their workspace. Finally, telecommuting can leave people easily distracted and not able to complete their workload in time, while the absence of co-workers can lead them into antisocial behaviour. On the other hand, this tendency allows workers to have freedom over labour hours. Furthermore, this gives them the opportunity to complete their daily chores and workload in a more flexible way. To illustrate, a study carried out by the University of Keele showed that, individuals that can perform their job from home are more satisfied than those that do it outside of their household, due to the lack of time pressure. Moreover, it saves them time, because there is no need of commuting, which for some of us, might take hours. Taking everything into consideration, telecommuting is the trend of the future and has revolutionized the way we work. But, we have to be cautious in order to prevent the loss of human interaction, which plays a vital role in our personal development.