Telecommunicating refers to workers doing their job from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. Telecommunicating is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decade. How do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommunicating?

In this advanced society, it is not uncommon for people to work from home using telecommunicating devices. Telecommunica tion is gradually becoming more and more common in workplaces in many countries and it is expected to make significant changes to the society in the upcoming decade. The growth of telecommunicating changed the society by providing people the convenience of working from home, and most importantly, providing possibilities for people to work and communicating virtually in the current pandemic, subsequently contributing to the efforts of containing spread of the virus. Telecommunication allows workers to work from home comfortably. Even though not physically being in their workplace, they can use virtual calls and conduct virtual meetings to discuss about matters and conduct meetings with their colleagues. Moreover, files and documents can be sent using emails, which allow employees to submit documents or reports to their employers at anytime and anywhere. I have seen my father work from home and noticed that he was able to have meetings online and communicate with his coworkers without any problems. In addition, fewer number of people will have to go to their workplace to work; working parents can easily work from home and give more attention to their child. The growth of telecommunication was especially important in this current pandemic. The entire world is largely affected by the pandemic since last year. Schools conducted online lectures, employees were ordered to work from home according to the restrictions imposed by the government to contain the spread of the virus. At that time I was in college and I remember having all my classes online using telecommunicating devices. Although I was quite confused about the features, I was able to learn and adapt to it after a few days. The presence of telecommunication devices lessen the need of being physically present in schools or even in offices, which is beneficial as the chances of getting infected by the virus decrease when people stay at home. Nowadays, people are more and more dependent on telecommunication and it is creating changes in people’s daily lives. In conclusion, telecommunication has got notable impact on the society. Particularly in this current pandemic, the growth of telecommunication gave people the possibilities of working and communicating. In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? The number of people travelling from home to their respective workplaces every day decreases, as more and more people work from home using computers, smartphones and etc. There are advantages and disadvantages to this change. This development allowed people to work comfortably and conveniently at home, even more so with the current pandemic which the government encourage people to stay at home as an effort to contain the spread of the virus. However this change led to lesser face to face communication and the need to purchase expensive devices to accommodate this development might potentially burden the working class. One of the advantages of the development of working from home is that employees can work comfortably at their respective homes without travelling to their workplaces. They do not have to experience traffic jams or crowded public transports in order to go to their offices. In addition, they can easily use their computers to hold virtual meetings with their colleagues and submit reports or documents to superiors conveniently with just a click on the button. Working from home also allow working parents to have more bonding time with their children. Although this development allows people to work and communicate with each other virtually, the chances of face to face communication decreases. Working from home significantly decreases the chances of coworkers meeting each other physically, hence people might become awkward or find it uncomfortable to meet people physically after a long time. Furthermore, the need of purchasing telecommunicating devices might be a burden to some of the working class, as these devices can be expensive and needs constant updates. Moreover, a strong internet connection is also needed for everyone in order to have a smooth and uninterrupted experience while working online. In conclusion, this development has its advantages and disadvantages; the employers should decide from the employees; point of view on whether working in the office or working from home would benefit both parties more, in order to maintain a healthy and comfortable working environment for the employees.