Teenagers are spending an increasing amount of time on the Internet, and this is having a negative effect on their social skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's modern world, the internet has become an integral part of education. It is often seen that young adolescents are spending a lot more time over the internet, which is hindering their social skills. Unfortunately, the above fact is the harsh reality of present times, and I completely agree with the same. On the one hand, some people might argue that the internet provides necessary references to teenagers, without which it is difficult for them to gather additional knowledge of their syllabus. Even in many schools, certain notes of subjects are referred from the internet. For example, in a recent study, it has been seen that students who take additional information on subjects from the internet score a lot better in exams. It is evident these facts bolster the idea that the internet is an essential part of the study routine of teenagers. Despite the above fact, I would argue, the time teenagers spend on the internet is far beyond what is required. For this, they are missing regular face-to-face interaction with people, which is making them less social. Teenagers are more interested in social networking rather than physical networking, and this is giving way to simplex communication. For example, a social experiment showed that the 13-year-old, who is extremely shy in the real-world, prefers to impose himself as an extrovert behind the screen. This only boosts up his confidence in the virtual world rather than in real life. Also, he faces a hard time interacting with people around him. Therefore, it is evident that over spending time on the internet by young people is adding a negative impact on the social skills. To conclude, although the internet is highly recommended for better performance in studies for teenagers, they tend to spend unnecessary high time over the internet that adversely affects their social skills. This essay did put forward the facts supporting the same and proving the harsh reality.