Technology has helped the poor and rich become closer.

It has long been a subject of discussion whether the advent of modern technology has brought the rich and the poor closer or it has increased the gap amongst the two. Despite some limitations, I agree with the former notion and I will explain why in this essay. One of the most conspicuous aspects of modern technology is that it has created a wealth of opportunities for the poor. Internet, which previously was only available for the elite but now is a commonplace technology, has brought all the classes of society on par and helped some underpriveleged people become millionaires or billionaires within a short period of time. Not only do these success stories inspire others to do the best they can, but state-of-the-art technology has also brought the people, be it rich or poor, closer than ever. Needless to say, all these merits stand the poor in good stead, when it comes to getting on to the same platform as their richer counterparts. Notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits, the technological advancement is not without concerns. The primary one stems from the fact that new advanced technologies are so expensive that the poor are seldom available to afford it. Only the rich make use of the latest technologies and become richer and more productive whereas the poor are not afforded the same opportunity. For instance, the Artificial oIntelligence is one such field which requires a lot of capital and in return provides equally good returns. Such technologies cannot be developed by poorer nations and as it is creating an unwelcome gap between the haves and have-nots. Hence, it is apparent why many think technology is a bane rather than a boon. In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite some concerns, the role of technological advancements in bridging the gap between both the rich and the poor is intrumental indeed.