Technological inventions in this digital era, especially the Internet and handheld devices, have significantly improved the living standard of people and transformed the way they study, work, and communicate with one another. It is undeniable that digital citizens now are more active in cyberspace, there has been a growing concern about the lack of face-to-face interaction between people in the real world.

Technological inventions in this digital era, especially the Internet and handheld devices, have significantly improved the living standard of people and transformed the way they study, work, and communicate with one another. It is undeniable that digital citizens now are more active in cyberspace, there has been a growing concern about the lack of face-to-face interaction between people in the real world. Technologies offer us chances to stay connected with people around the world. First, they give us access to easy and instant communication tools. In the past, sending a letter through the traditional mail seemed like an eternity, and calling through landline phones required people to be available at home. However, thanks to the Internet and smart devices, people now can stay in touch with their peers immediately without the need to meet face-to-face. Second, social networking sites allow people to be socially active in cyberspace. Before the Internet came around, people all had to wait for the daily newspaper or the news broadcasts on television to keep updated with what was going on. Now that information happens in real-time blocks on social networks, Internet users are given the opportunity to discuss social issues with millions of others in the world. Additionally, the elderly and people who are shy or socially isolated can also feel more connected to society thanks to social media. However, that people today prefer to interact with each other online or via phones also reduces face-to-face communication in the real life. First, many people find socializing with others unnecessary as they regularly chat with each other on the Internet. Little by little, technology has become an integral part of the way that people connect to their peers, increasingly taking the place of in-person interaction. In fact, many people now become too immersed in and even addicted to this digital world, thereby not presenting enough in the real one. Not to mention, digital technologies also provide various means of entertainment, which are appealing to youngsters and keep them in front of the screen for a significant amount of time. Youtube videos and online games are the main factors to blame for preventing children from enjoying their time with friends and other people.