Teaching philosophy and short term goals including long term goals as a professional

1 из 2 When I graduated the University, I felt both happiness and fear. As I got Bachelor's degree, it was a ticket for independent life, but on the flip side, my thoughts where to work, how to work as a teacher remained as a question. At that time, I was not enough confident with myself as it is a world of difference between studying and practicing. So, after three months, I got my job as a teacher in one of vocational college in Uzbekistan/Bukhara. In the beginning I couldn't got along with my students, English language did not play significant role in their life. The problem at that time was books which we had to have lesson with our students. The book was difficult to understand and was not appropriate to students level. Students level was not even A1 but the Book which was given was in B1 level. In this case there will surely appear a question: What did I do? Didn't use that book instead Every day I brought worksheets with elementary tasks and pictures. In every lesson we had a special minute that every student had to speak in English by my guidance. This is what really helped me to raise their attention in learning languages. Then I understood that, copying from the book or doing exercises that they even don't understand grammatically was not a good idea. If I am a teacher I should enjoy my job and my students also should learn English by pleasure. After some time, I started working both in college and language center. Language Center is a place where I found confidence, respect from mixed-leveled students, Freedom and Opportunities. I was actually free of choosing materials, lesson hours, in general It was desirable working there as I was enough motivated by my students. The more they learned the more I tried to do my best and never stopped working on myself. For me knowing a language, understanding other nations or rising interest of my students are really engaging. My short term goal as an ESL teacher is to combine all four skills including reading, writing, listening and speaking by giving students practical ability. I try to combine my lessons with real life situations, so that students feel convenient in any situation, when it comes to produce the language they are learning. My next goal as an English instructor is to create a rich learning environment for my students as they could feel themselves like in English speaking country. TESOL courses were real trip for me for setting my goals. I have gained much experience, I could clarify my weak points, I shared experience. And now its time for me for exploring in my own lessons and make them more lively, colorful and engaging. My teaching style includes several approaches due to my students needs and aims. Being honest, I have used a number of approaches in 5 years of teaching, I found out, Communicative approach is the best style. Why? Today's generation requires or desires learning all four skills, so that I try to use authentic materials in every lesson. We mostly write letters to our pen friends through social media, we play language games like in direct approach. We read articles or share news in English. In my point of view learners achieve their goals by developing their beliefs on themselves.