Teaching history in schools is not as useful as teaching other subjects, and therefore students should be allowed a choice not to study history. How far do you agree?

History is as important as other subjects like Science, Mathematics etcetera. Moreover, it is advisable to have the basic knowledge of each course. I strongly disagree with the suggestion that schools will teach History as an optional subject. History teaches you a legion of things. It helps us understand more about our traditions and culture in detail. Every religion, race, ethnicity, and so on in this vast world has affluent and diverse annals of theirs own. Additionally, the greater you learn about this the close you will feel towards it. It has information on the great leaders - their sacrifice, achievements that inspires younger generations. There are also some events like the Holocaust that is worth remembering because we must honour the memory of those lost. For an instance, in the case of India, there are a number of freedom fighters who gave their lives for the independence of country. Furthermore, a significant amount of notable protests were led by these people. These noteworthy moments must be paid respect even in past, present and future. History is a great mentor as it shows the patterns of events or behaviours from the past that led to another event. This can be very informative and one can learn from other's mistakes since prevention is better than cure. Surprisingly, we have witnessed that History repeats itself, which should not happen in the first place if we are not negligent and understand its importance. In conclusion, schools should educate students with at least a primary knowledge of their past.