Teaching financial management in school curriculum

A child’s formative years is the best time to teach them valuable life skills as they will be able to benefit from these lessons their entire life. I would argue that teaching students such key life lessons may be significantly more important than other academic subjects typically taught at school. I strongly agree with the view that managing money should be included in school curriculum. I believe it will provide them with the key skills required to deal with two major challenges in the world today - consumerism and online shopping. In today’s global capitalist economy, consumerism is the biggest hurdle to living a financially successful life. What do you constantly see driving down the street in a city or town? Numerous hoardings advertising glamorous products encouraging you to spend big money and buy something you probably don’t need. Any newspaper, magazine or anywhere you look, big brands are always trying to sell you something. Even the social pressures of not have something that your friends have, this can make people buy stuff they don’t need with money that they don’t have. Bank and credit cards are willing to loan you money so that you spend more than you can afford. A strong foundation laid at a young age to manage money and spend only within budgets can be the difference between being debt-free and broke. Online shopping is another major challenge that has come with the explosion of the internet, technology and smartphones. Buying things online today is just a click or a touch away. It’s so easy to go on an online shopping spree without realizing the financial impact until it’s too late. For example, online ads and social media and apps encourage you buy things and to spend additional money on in-app purchases and that can be quite financially draining. Maintaining financial discipline will be hard for young people especially if they haven’t developed this skill at a young age. These are some of the reasons why I believe schools must include important life skills like managing money in their curriculum. It can be implemented as classroom lessons or practical activities designed to understand and practice these financial skills. If this is implemented across the country, I believe we will see a generation of successful young people in this nation who are financially responsible and are able to focus on making this world a better place not bogged down by debt and despair.