Teaching English for young learner

In the first lesson, I learned about who are young learners and some characteristics of them. First of all, I focus who are young learner. In this section, I knew that young learner includes 2 kinds: younger learner and older learner. I am distinguished between them. In younger learners, they are at the beginning of the stage at school so that they are lack of awareness in studying. Actually, they can understand the meaningful message, but they don’t have enough the ability of analyzing language. They really have lower levels of the process of learning In order to teach effectively, teacher just prepares simple lesson and use many activity to interact with them. Beside, they don’t have good effort reading and writing. Teacher need to design many other task: trace, colour, etc They are little children in order that they have limited knowledge about the world. And they enjoy playing and imagination. Teacher can apply these in lesson plan to be interested lesson. With the other learners are well established at school because they have a previous stages. They begin to take an interest in language as an abstract system. They show a growing level of awarness about themselves as a language learners and their learning. As the results, they really have the ability of writing and reading skills and they have a good knowledge about the world around us. Finally, they begin to show an interest in real-life issues. Some characteristics of the young language learner from 5-7 that teacher should consider are the kids know that the world is governed by rules. They may not understand clearly the rules, but they know that they are there to be obeyed and the rules keep the class are feeling security. They understand situation more quickly than they understand the language used. Beside, their own understanding comes through hands and eyes and ears. The physical world is dominant at all the times. They are really logical - what you say first before they do first. For example: Close your book - Put your book in the bag means they close your book first and after that they put your book in the bag. In addition, they have a very short attention and concentration. Teacher need to be encourage them by making them come back the lesson. They are happy and working alone so that they do not want to work together with their friend. And the important, they like playing and learning if they enjoy in order that teacher have to keep the air of class of learning happily. But it is sometime serious to create the concentration of the class. How about the children from 8 to 10? They can understand abstract, understand symbol, gerneralise and systematise.