teachers need more than just a good knowledge of their subject

One of the first characteristics of a good teacher is a good knowledge of his subject, but this is not the only thing to consider. First, patience is an important characteristic. Due to the fact, some students can understand certain subjects with minimal effort, while others may require more explanations that may have to be repeated several times. In addition, a good teacher must be friendly to his students to be able to pass on knowledge without great difficulty. Friendliness creates a bond of trust. It will encourage students to share their problems instead of being afraid. Beyond these two aspects, a good teacher is also well organized. Indeed, good teachers prepare their lessons and structure them well for better comprehension. The planning of the courses allows managing the expectations of the students. It avoids unnecessary waste of time. In conclusion, we can say that only knowing your subject is not enough to be a good teacher. He also needs to be organized, patient, care about his students, and be a good communicator.