Task 2 writing, social and emotional skills

It is evident from the recent statistics that violent offenses committed by adolescents have been on the raise. It is believed by many psychologists that parents and teachers are lacking in educating the children, regarding necessary social and emotional skills, thus leading to their violent behavior. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the above view before reaching a concrete decision. Firstly, raising a child is very challenging and a major role in shaping their minds is played by parents as well as teachers. Although, teaching of academics is essential, interpersonal skills have been found to be vital for a child's development. For example, children who were involved in activities like teamwork building, self awareness programs and charities in schools, were found to have positive relationships with others. Besides this, their academic performance also improved. What is the impact of mindful parenting on children? Since children spend most of their time with parents, they have an immense responsibility in guiding their child's behavior. Despite punishing a child for his mistakes, parents should focus on teaching a child how to differentiate between right and wrong. Moreover, they should be encouraged to show respect and empathy towards others. In addition, parents should try to take their kids to play dates to improve their communication and interpersonal skills. In conclusion, because of mindful teaching children will not only be successful in their studies but also will be able to practice good behavior, empathy and self-control. I strongly agree, that parents and teachers should understand the benefits of social and emotional learning and try to implement it.