Soft skill is important as academic skills?

Recruiters nowadays are targeting applicants who are equipped with good soft skills. Some people reckon that it is necessary to posses those skills to get promotion while many others cling to the idea that they are just as important as formal qualifications. On one hand, it is not exaggarated to say that good academic skills play an important role in one’s career. Only can employees who have the specialized knowledge and academic skills contribute to their company to help it thrive in the future. Hiring a peson is synonymous with hiring their intellectual power not just their body. This is particular true for works that involve in-depth research and development such as information technology, computer science and medicine. Without technical knowledge, a peson stands little chance of being hired, let alone climbing the career ladder. On the other hand, it is still extremely difficult for them who even have stellar credentials gain success in their career path without any soft skills. In the world of globalization and modernization, hardly do people work individually, everyone have a tendency to work in team to boost productivity. As a result, a worker could be dimished if they can not meet any demand of possesing soft skilss such as interpersonal skill or collaboration skill. In conclusion, while the academic knowledge is the key factor to guarantee one’s career success, I believe that it is necessary to equip themselves with soft skills.