Task 2: Today family members do not eat meals together. Why? Is this a positive

It is true that there is now a disappointingly small number of family gatherings. This state of affairs can be attributed to several factors, and I believe that this is an unwelcome development. There are two main factors behind the decline of family meals, which is the working schedule of parents and the growing attention to social networking of their offsprings. WIth regard to the former, it is the 9-to-5 work culture in many Western countries that makes adults have little or no free time to spend with other family members because they have to deal with conferences, paperwork or team projects in the workplace. Added to this is the 996 work culture in some nations such as China or Japan that forces employees to work straight from 9 in the morning until 9 P. M from Monday to Saturday, which means they have to sacrifice almost of their leisure activities and breaks for lunch or dinner, therefore it causes the work-life imbalance among the working adults. With regard to the latter, teenagers these days are more attracted to social media and online networking platforms such as Facebook because they can interact and meet new people, so they no longer feel excited with conventional gatherings with boring small talks. In light of the aforementioned causes behind this phenomenon, I believe that they render this trend negative. Parents would have to suffer from severe health problems due to hectic and stressful working schedules. There is a growing number of middle-aged white-collar workers diagnosed with indigestion or obesity because they have little time for lunch and have to eat fast food instead of cooking healthy dishes at home or low blood pressure due to the lack of daily workouts. To make matters worse, children are the most adversely affected by this trend since good family relationships play a vital role in children’s early development. This can be seen in the growing number of juvenile outlaws in many countries, committing many crimes from shoplifting, vandalism to kidnapping or serial killing, and most of them are found to have suffered from child neglect at a very young age. As a result, this trend may cause many harms to the younger generations and society as a whole In conclusion, the trend that family members don’t eat together is attributable to adults’ work-life imbalance and the shift of interest of children towards modern socialising platforms. Given the dangers this trend poses to individuals’ well-being and social stability.