Task 2: Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, when concerns for personal health are growing in popularity, some people have stated that the subject of food science and cooking sessions should be introduced into the school curriculum. However, many oppose this, contending that student’s time should be spent on other more instrumental subjects. This essay will discuss both sides of the view and, personally, I am in agreement with the former one considering the benefits of acquiring knowledge of food in the modern days. Good On the one hand, the opponents of the integration of food science in school learning may argue on the ground that students should focus on other areas of interest that are more pragmatic later in life. Firstly, several fields of study such as Maths, Literature, and Physics are of vital significance in deciding one’s success in both academic and professional life. For example, recruiters will mainly opt for those people with decent or even outstanding academic records decent knowledge in these subjects. Therefore, allocating more time for these subjects will be more reasonable than sessions of food nutrition and cooking. In addition, students are already synonymous with a notoriously hectic curriculum with tons of difficult disciplines, thus, extra lessons of food science will be excessively burdening. However, in my personal view, I advocate this area of science learning as it brings students wide arrays of benefits worth considering. The most important of those is to educate these young people about food and the importance of health. This is because it may provide information on ingredients’ nutritions and properties as well as knowledge about potential health risks such as ones from inappropriate use of various chemical preservatives or overconsumption of certain food types. Hence, unhealthy lifestyles including excessive reliance over-reliance on convenience foods would be less prevalent which could, in effect, lead to improved well-being amongst the youth. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that although other subjects might mainly dictate students’ future career success, they should learn the science of food considering the advantages regarding food safety and healthy diets brought by this subject. In the future, this discipline will probably receive more recognition and attention, and its introduction into the school curriculum would be beneficial for students in the long run.