Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I believe that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Advertisement is the power to showcase the product in a way that companies want. They lure customers by the way of false advertisement, hiring influential people to promote the product, showing false testimonies, using their brand value to promote subpar products etc. One such example is skin lightening creams, companies hire big Bollywood actors and social media influencers to influence audience to promote their products with good reviews which in turn increases their sales. Another example is iPhones, Apple always advertises their products as superior to all using its brand value. However, recently most of the iPhone launched does not have any additional features and are also of sub par in terms of camera quality, features etc. when compared to other brands in market. Still we see high demand for apple iPhones for each new version launched. This is the outcome of continuous advertisement and influence created by the brand in long run. To conclude, advertisement is a way of creating needs in customer mind in todays scenario. It is imperative that companies advertise to inform the customers about the new features and new products in a most ethical way which does not influence customers in a wrong way and can help them to take an informed decision.