Task 2 People live longer in some part of the world. What do you think is the reason of this? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

The life of an average person varies among countries. While some individuals are fortunate to live till their ripe old age, others are not so lucky. It might even be country dependent and term it a blessing. This essay will discuss why there are differences between the mortality age among nations and will also argue why long lifespan of citizens is not a completely in the nation’s best interest. There are two main reasons why people live for a long period of time in some nations than others. The first is the health care system of these countries. Some nations, for example, Germany, have universal medical coverage for its residents. This policy gives everyone the opportunity to medical insurance irrespective of one’s social status, thus making health care very affordable. This is unlike some nations where citizens cannot afford basic health care. In these nations, citizens, especially indigent ones succumb to deaths that could have been preventable in the presence of a universal medical system. In addition, the lifestyle of citizens differs from society to society. For instance, the main diet of most Americans is made up of junk food. As a result, fat/cholesterol- related diseases like diabetes and heart failure has been one of the top killers of American residents. On the contrary, Asians are mostly vegetarians and this is evident in their long lifespan. In my opinion, a country whose citizens have a long life is not an entirely good thing because there would be a decrease in available labour. For instance, in Germany, 1 in 5 persons living there is age 80 and above leading to a shortage in the skills needed for labour. In quest for getting more manpower, Germany encouraged immigration and in the process, criminals found their way into the nation. Now, there is an influx of criminals which was almost nonexistent before in the country. In conclusion, people grow old before they die due to the availability of an affordable medical system and diet. However, this is not an entirely good situation as there will be a reduction in the available manpower for labour.