TASK 2: In many countries, the crime level is increasing, and crimes are becoming more violent. What is the reason and what can be done about it?

Most of the countries in the world are observing rising crime rates and an element of violence is present in these crimes. The prevalent reason for this surge in crime is poverty among citizens. To tackle this issue, government should implement strict laws and increase the number of employment opportunities for people. Undoubtedly, one evident cause of ascending criminal activities is poverty. Lack of money creates difficulty in meeting day to day expenses of a person hence, he/she tends to opt for quick ways to obtain money. This is because these people indulge in activities such as theft, extortion and kidnapping from a young age to satisfy their needs. Consequently, they become professional criminals over time and commit heinous crimes without thinking of any repercussions. To illustrate, a recent study of criminal profiles of Delhi, suggested that majority of them hail from poor families and became criminal to earn money. To eradicate this problem from society, government is required to make stringent laws for such crimes. Strict laws and a robust mechanism for crime management ensure that criminals are afraid of committing crimes as they fear of harsh punishment. Additionally, government should also focus on creating employment for the people of the nation as it will help in providing them means of income. As a result, number of people opting for criminal activities will decrease. This can be understood by observing the difference between crime rates of U. S. and Somalia which are 12% and 50% respectively because U. S. nationals have high average income as compared to Somalians. To sum up, number of criminals are rising all over the world due to lack of money and this problem can be managed by government, if they develop strict laws and provide employment to its people.