In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

Nowadays, people spend more time at their offices than at home or with their friends. In many countries, this has become a daily norm which is destroying the work culture that a company should maintain. It is crucial to have a work-life balance not only to increase productivity in one's professional life but also to lead a healthy personal life by spending time with your loved ones or getting involved in other leisure activities. There are various factors contributing to such a monotonous and tiresome routine. Firstly, as the economy is growing, so is the work pressure. With the new advancements in almost every sector, some countries are emerging as global powers but without realizing the cost at which it is coming. Secondly, there is a constant need among individuals to perform better because of the increasing competition. Many companies evaluate the performance of their employees based on the number of hours they are working. Hence, the burden created is tremendous and is forcing people to work longer shifts. Such work culture is definitely a negative development more than a positive one in my opinion. The major impact can be seen in terms of physical as well as mental health. Researchers have suggested an upward trend in the percentage of people suffering from depression, anxiety and other mental health issues. In addition, sitting in the same position for an extended number of hours is one of the leading causes of obesity and continuous physical pains in the body. From my point of view, there is an urgent need to bring in good policies to address the situation before it gets worse. The government can fix the total no of hours per week so that no organization can take undue advantage of its employees and also mention the repercussions in case of non-compliance. It could also set up an employee grievance system available 24*7 for employers to take it seriously.