Talk about a festival in your country.

Well, the most important festival in Viet Nam I may tell you right away is Tet Holiday, in other words, that’s the Vietnamese Traditional Lunar New Year which usually falls in early February. In my opinion, Vietnamese like us, highly appreciate this festival as this is the time for all family members gathering together and having family reunions after a long hard-working year. I may continue with the activities that we do to celebrate New Year. Well, we usually make plenty of local specialties, such as Banh Chung, beef jerky and dried candied fruits. We also cook traditional foods to serve the whole family and welcome guests. Before the New Year’s Eve, we repaint some walls and decorate our house with the red of lit lanterns, fireworks and parallel sentences, it’ll bring people luck and happiness in New Year, I believe. On the first day of Tet, there are many customs that come to throw celebrations with our family, like my relatives, neighbors and friends. Adults give out lucky money to children in red envelopes, holds luck and best wishes. After all, people go to pagodas and churches to say prayers for the family. For me, I’d say Tet is so essential to our culture and to myself. Therefore we have more time to spend with our families and our loved ones. It is also a great time to think about what we have done in the previous year, and to make plans for the upcoming year.