Talk about a book you have read

I am going to talk about a book that l’ve read recently. It is a Vietnamese coming-of-age novel called “Mắt Biếc”, which can be literally translated into Vietnamese as “Blue Eyes”. The novel revolves around an unrequited love story between Ngạn, a country boy, and Hà Lan, his neighbor, childhood friend and lifelong crush. Ngạn and Hà Lan grow up together in a remote village in the Central region of Vietnam. Ngạn develops a strong love, which later becomes obsession, towards Hà Lan, the girl whose eyes he adores since the very first time they meet. Although they spend their childhood and adolescence together, they later lead a very different life during their adulthood. While Ngạn still cherishes the slow-paced life of his village, Hà Lan fails to resist the allure and glamour of the city life. She ends up falling in love with a playboy named Dũng, has a baby with him and leaves the child under the protection of her grandmom and, guess what, his lifelong crush Ngạn. Ngạn raises her daughter like his own child just to realise at the end of the story that he is just trying to create another version of his beloved Hà Lan. I really love this novel since I can see parts of younger self in it The author’s depiction of the 1990’s Vietnamese life is just brilliant. The movie adapted from the book is going to be released this December.