Surveillance cameras in banks, offices, shops, and streets have been very successful in reducing crime in the workplace and public, but they are also a tool for their users to spy on people’s private business. What problems do surveillance cameras create? What are the solutions?

The core objective of security cameras is to monitor suspicious activities and help curb crimes. Nevertheless, there is a serious concern that they are intruding on the commoners’ lives, who do not appreciate a compromise on their freedom and privacy. Compromise on privacy and freedom is perhaps due to over-surveillance. It may be either by constant vigilance on masses with their day-to-day activities or by taking advantage of their recordings against them, which can be harmful. As these devices are now almost everywhere, they may allow their operators to know how much cash one is carrying or what they are buying; such vigilance sometimes results in financial loss. In my country, some recent robbery cases reported on the media are somewhat alarming. These unfortunate incidences took place to especially those who were leaving the bank after some cash withdrawal. However, dealing with these issues amicably is possible. What can be done is the reconsideration of their installation and legalities. Entrance, exits, hallways, and streets seem to be the right places for the security cameras with clear signs on the walls to let people know where they are. Such placement can reduce the fear of any compromise on privacy. Besides, a strict code of conduct with exemplary punishments on any violation may prove helpful. The cameras installed by private institutions, firms, and businesses after government permission or license will probably make the vigilantes answerable in case of a law breach. For instance, the cyber laws implemented in my country have somewhat warned potential criminals. They now ought to keep themselves away from any misuse of surveillance cameras that may result in imprisonment and financial penalty if proven guilty. Such steps can counteract the issue effectively. In conclusion, although no one can rule out the importance of surveillance cameras for curbing crimes, they should not exploit people’s private affairs.