Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Most urban areas in my country widely prefer the co-education system, whereas the rural areas typically uphold separate schooling for their children. I think single-sex schools are somewhat appealing to some parents as they may provide students with freedom. It usually allows pupils to study any subject. If studying biology, the teacher can openly discuss some topics related to the human body or reproduction. Also, one can wish and participate in any extra-curricular activities that are usually peculiar to one specific gender. Girls can play any sports that are considered only for boys without any hesitation. Maybe because of this reason, the convent, boarding and cadet schools in Pakistan seem to have better academic results and physical growth. I think gender segregation in this regard may be helpful. On the other hand, I also find many parents often gravitated to mixed schools, because they may be productive in preparing their children for their future. Future traits developed during schools are confidence, a sense of cooperation and competition, which are likely to empower them to help their counterpart and make them strive hard to gain more marks in their subjects. Similarly, since both do not seem to consider each other as aliens, these qualities tend to develop a healthy environment that somewhat maintains harmony among them. As a result, when they finally step up to the university level in my country, I often see no gender segregation; boys and girls pursue education mostly without hesitation. I think all this future preparation is likely to help them until they finally enter the corporate sector and begin their career. To conclude, I believe there are advantages to both. I experienced both separate and mixed environment and considered myself lucky by reaping the benefits of both worlds. Overall, I think both ways of education will continue to exist as per their outcomes.