Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

Today people prefer to be their own boss rather than working for someone else. This shift in mindset could be accounted to the fact that slaving for another organisation doesn't provide satisfaction in the longer run. The reasons for people starting their own business are multi-fold. The major reason is the freedom to work anytime anywhere is exhilarating. Pursuing your own passion generates tremendous amount of pleasure in contrast to being an employee to someone else and helping them achieve their dream. Additionally, being self-employed has its perks. The elements such as reporting to higher authorities, following orders as well as the timeline are not present when someone works for themselves. Furthermore, Business owners have the choice to invest their time and energy into the areas important to them. Working 9-5 and over-timing seems dreading when an individual isn't enjoying what they are doing, instead grinding for your own vision is far more fruitful than doing so for someone else. On the other hand, becoming self-employed has its downside too. Firstly, starting a business requires funds and support from other parties, which is difficult to attain. Investors require proof of security which is hard to provide at an early stage. Secondly, one has to do everything by themselves. Moreover, building your own firm involves risk of failures and losses. Since they are inevitable, it is necessary to develop a thick skin in order to get past the hurdles and become successful. Lastly, in times like these, there is very little support from family and friends. Leaving a job with steady income is an idea most people, especially family members, can't digest. A regular salary is assuring to support a family hence the transition from a job to business is quite overwhelming one. To conclude, working for yourself is always amazing but there are certain risks involved which need to be assessed. Researching, collecting all the facts, learning from other pupils mistakes and having a backup is important while jumping into this trend.