surveillance cameras are now installed in many shops ans supermarkets to prevent shoplifting. but many people are agianst this because they think it is a disregard of privacy. what is your opinion?

Nowadays, many minds advocate the installation of numerous surveillance cameras preventing high level of shoplifting in shops and supermarkets. However, some others have raised protests agaisnt this since it is regarded as an intrusion on privacy. The following paragraphs will discuss both views and give my own thinking. On the one hand, it is no-brainer that the omnipresence of such technical equipment like security cameras benefits the social progress. Admittedly, widespread surveillance in public areas makes great contribution to shoplifting reduction as videos and images are a tangible evidence recorded properly, which prevents shoplifters from engaging in unlawful activities. Furthermore, apart from that, surveillance cameras also play an important role in protecting the society from likle threats and providing people with a sense of safety and security. Therefore, it is not groundless for some people to support the ubiquity of the survellance of cameras. On the other hand, despite the great benefits that security cameras offer to the society, others have a strong voice against the pervasiveness of them. It is undeniable that individual freedom, which is the top priority needs taking into consideration as the customers may feel uneasy, is somehow grossly violated. For instance, every single moment they go to the shooping mall, their faces and activities are constantly observed and recorded by those electronic devices, sent to the security organisations and analyzed if necessary. Therefore, it is plausible for some shops owners to respect and protect their customers privacy. In sum, notwithstanding such enormous advantages brought by surveillance camera, every customers deserve a sense of privacy when partcipating in several activities. Therefore, other different measures should be taken to replace the ubiquity of those devices.