Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this? akow

It is true that supermarkets nowadays are selling a lot of kinds of food imported from many different countries around the world. However, some people belives that supermarkets should only stock domestic food. Personally, I argree with this statement to a large extent for several reasons. First of all, importing food will take a lot of time, which can reduce considerably the quality and freshness of the product. No matter how well preserved the food is, the fact that it goes through a variety of environments causes nutrients to be depleted. Moreover, food can be collided when delivering and makes it unable to use anymore. Secondly, food import costs a large number of money. Bringing food from abroad means we have to pay many types of fee such as taxation, haulage and other charges if necessary. Futhermore, the number of people who want to use imported high quality food has increased significantly, especially the appearance of more and more different types of food imported. However, in general, the prices of imported products, especially fresh and nutritious foods, are still quite high compared to the market price. On the other hand, sometimes goverment cannot meet the food needs for their citizen so they have to import from other countries. For instance, Philippines has become the country imported rice the most because their population is growing significantly and they don't have enough land to plant rice. To sum up, it is better for supermarket only sell food produced from within their own country. I believe that domestic food have much better quality than imported one.