In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping in huge department stores have seriously increased currently and there is a considerable threat of closing down some of the retail shops that are located in urban areas. This essay understands this as a positive development as it brings the convenience to majority of clients to buy all their requirements under one roof as it’s saves time and the variety of products gives the buying power over many numbers of items. Firstly, now a day’s people are very much occupied with work and often rush to a place where they could buy all the requirements in one store. Furthermore, it gives the individuals to save time in their busy schedule and productively allocate that saved time in some other activities. For example, the Arpico supermarket chain in Sri Lanka has all the essentials, such as groceries, furniture and even electrical items in one huge store providing the customers to purchase whatever the items they want to buy and saves a considerable time. As the second positive benefit that the shoppers would receive is the choice of products which the supermarket has to offer with the extreme quality. The range of items gives the buying power to select the best suitable for the needs. For instance, Odel retail store has many different quality of brands which made in numerous countries and good value for money. To conclude, there is a recent tendency of customers visiting large shops to buy certain goods and that seen as positive. It brings out the choices, easiness to buy and saves time. Moreover, having a product range with excellent quality of goods carries a better experience.