Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, local markets are filled with exotic imported goods which leave little room on the shelf for local goods. Some might argue that local markets should solely sell regional merchandise, however, I firmly disagree and this essay is stating the reasons behind my opposition. Undoubtedly, importing goods from various foreign sources has many undeniable benefits. furthermore, one of the significant reasons validating my opinion in the matter of importing goods, is the rejuvenation of the local economy due to the mutual importation deals made with other nations to export the local goods in exchange of importing food products. Although, some might claim that we could be self sufficient and renounce any foreign goods, I firmly believe that this would limit the consumer choice also harm some of the trading deals made foreign countries, thus, harming our political stand with them. Another main reason not to reduce imports, is the lack of the essential domestic food products. For further elaboration, not all countries have the capabilities to achieve self sufficiency in the matter food products, either for the lack of fertile lands, the harsh conditions or even the lack of sustainable water source. therefore, some countries greatly depend on their neighbouring countries to suffice their need of some absent food products. To sum up, encouraging local farmers and local products is a must and even favouring them over their foreigner counterpart to boost the morale and the economy is a must, nevertheless, importation will be a key part in the food market.