Young people should spend more time on cultural activities such as music and theatre and less time on sport. How far

These days, young people’s free time is limited as they have a heavy workload at school and university. When they do find time to relax, youngsters enjoy spending time on their hobbies, doing activities which relax them and which they enjoy. It is a good idea to spend time on a physical activity as there are many benefits for a young person. Firstly, sports keep us fit and healthy and better able to defend off illnesses. They provide us with energy and improve a person’s self-confidence. Exercise ensures that our blood circulates and our heart, an important muscle in the body, beats faster. Youngsters spend a great deal of time sitting when they study or during lessons, so some form of sport will do them good. Not everyone however is interested in sport. Some youngsters prefer going to the theatre or to concerts. These activities are good for a person’s spiritual development and creativity. They ensure that young people appreciate the arts and culture. These performances pass on useful messages to viewers, make them question important issues and broaden their minds. Both sports and cultural activities are important for youngsters. Sports are good for a person’s body, giving them an added boost of energy. Being healthy is a vital part of our lives. A person is unable to function if they are unhealthy. Similarly, it is equally important for a person to cultivate their spiritual side by being involved in cultural activities. What a person choses to do depends on their preferences.