Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

In today’s increasingly interconnected and interdependent world, proficiency in other languages is an immensely vital skill. A number of people opine that learning a foreign language is only done for work or to travel, while others believe that there are several reasons to master a foreign tongue. I completely agree with the notion that learning an unfamiliar language has numerous perks. Therefore, this essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence that knowledge of other languages has countless benefits. Firstly, understanding a foreign tongue or dialect is key to developing better social skills, by facilitating smooth communication between individuals, which in turn minimizes prejudice in the society. For instance, I speak French fluently and live in Lagos State Nigeria, which is widely known as a melting pot of various cultures and my neighborhood has seen a huge influx of French-speaking expatriate workers, many of whom I have gained their friendship because I freely communicate with them. Therefore, learning a foreign language enhances the social abilities of individuals. In addition, it is a fact that getting taught a new language boosts the cognitive skills in humans. Furthermore, it has been discovered that people who acquire a new tongue develop better problem solving capacities and can easily multitask. A good example is a study conducted at the Arizona State University by child psychologists who found that about 75% of toddlers living in households were multiple languages are spoken has better vocabulary than their counterparts who were not exposed to new languages. To conclude, the benefits of knowledge of foreign languages by far exceeds just travel and finding jobs. In my opinion, it has far more reaching effects which include boosting cognitive abilities and building effective social skills.