Such technological equipment as mobile phones and computers have acquired their significance in the modern-day communication of the young. Personally, I believe that this has both positive and negative effects on their reading and writing skills.

On the one hand, I agree that excessive reliance on these devices is responsible for the young generation’s poor performance in reading and writing. Firstly, many people have a strong preference for computer software when composing text documents due to its convenient functions. For example, Microsoft Word provides users with the ability to modify or erase a piece of text without effort, simultaneously slowing down the writing speed of the users. In addition, young people who spend much time playing with their phones and computers are likely to have insufficient time for reading activities. Gradually, the lack of practice may impair their reading competence in the long term. On the other hand, it is also true that the proper use of electronic devices can have a positive effect on reading and writing skills. The Internet has now been made accessible through both mobile phones and computers, allowing young readers to gain knowledge from a wider range of sources. Online English newspapers, as an example, are useful for English learners to enrich their vocabulary. Using computers to write blogs is also a good way to enhance the writing skill. Today, the availability of Internet infrastructure can enable bloggers to update their stories at their convenience. By writing regularly, the writing ability of a person is certain to improve. In conclusion, it seems to me that the use of electronic equipment items can have both advantages and drawbacks for the reading and writing skills of users, depending on the way they are used.