Successful sports professionals make a great deal of more money than people in other professions. Some people think it is justified and some believe that this is unfair

Successful sports professionals’ earnings have long been compared to that earned by people pursuing other important professions. There are people who believe that the large sum of money earned by them is justified, others feel that it is unfair to other important professions. I will be briefly discussing both these views and try to derive my conclusion from them. On one hand, staunch supporters of the sportsmen believe that the money paid to the successful sports professionals is justified. They reason that it is not easy accomplishment to become a successful sportsperson. It requires unwavering dedication, intense training, specialized diets and good medical attention in order to give their best performance. It is an expensive affair and they are simply getting paid their dues. Also, a sportsman can only perform till he is physically fit and free of any injuries, even if they get hurt slightly, they lose out on an entire tournament or series. For example, when the cricketer Sachin Tendulkar was diagnosed with tennis elbow, he had to sit out of all tournaments for a year, which meant he that did not get paid at all during that period. On the other hand, some people believe that other important occupations must get better remuneration and the sportsmen shouldn’t be paid as much. They argue that people pursuing other professions such as medicine, teaching and law to name a few have more of an impact on the society and they play a crucial part in the wellbeing and shaping of the society as we know it. Additionally, they feel that many underpaid professions such as teachers, nurses etc could be paid well if the earnings were to be distributed as per their relevance and importance to the society. In conclusion, I believe that money earned by the sports professionals is justified as they dedicate their entire lives and a great deal of their own money into improving their skill. They only get paid as long as they are successful and it doesn’t prove to be a steady source of income as it is in case of other professions.