Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think that this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

There are conflicting views with regard to justifiable salary of professional athletes and other essential occupations. Some individuals believe that athletes should be paid more than the latter while some people argue otherwise. There are some who support the idea that professional athletes must be highly paid as they hold rare skills that only some are able to achieve. This is due to the idea that some sports inclined people are blessed with innate capabilities and that not all people have this kind of dexterity, it is undeniable however, that they need to undergo a series of training for them to hone their inborn skills. Additionally, they give pride to their home country especially if they bring home the trophy. For instance, the Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt who from his younger years has been running very fast and is an olympic medalist for being the World’s fastest runner, making Jamaica famous for high-speed sprinters. Meanwhile, other people reckon that other vital professions should have higher salaries because they are highly skilled. It is necessary that professionals should be well compensated since they underwent a degree and a licensure examination which makes them highly qualified. Similarly, a community will not be complete without these professionals and they are extremely necessary in this regard. Doctors, teachers, and engineers are some of the professions that are deemed indispensable and the society will not function fully without them. Thus, their occupations should be given proper acknowledgement and appreciation. In conclusion, one key point brought about by justifying vital professionals to have higher pay than the athletes, is that they are highly skilled. It is rather reasonable to award the athletes with higher remuneration compared to other professions because they are rare individuals and they make their country known worldwide.