Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Since the pandemic outbreak of COVID 19, shopping from the internet or online shopping has shown an immense increment as compared to previous years. Many people have chosen to shop online rather than go out to crowded areas and waste their valuable time; however, some people still prefer the original method of buying straight from the counter. In this essay, we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of shopping online. The advantages of purchasing products from the internet are: Firstly, a customer can purchase products around the clock at his/her convenience and not be restricted within a certain time. Secondly, there are huge varieties of products to choose from and a customer need not be intimidated to buy from any specific shop. Lastly, purchasing items online does not require us to use cash; therefore, preventing us from germs and any other contaminated diseases. I have had satisfactory experiences from buying air tickets for my family on a trip to India and grocery shopping online from Tops supermarket. The disadvantages of purchasing products from the internet are: Firstly, some products need to be seen and touched before purchasing, for example, buying furniture or electrical items requires a customer to see the quality, check for correct sizes and color. My dad had the experience of buying a small wooden coffee table online, but the product turned out to be too small. Secondly, due to weather reasons or time management of the shipping company, products may arrive at a later date. Lastly, if the product is damaged, it is usually difficult to claim the money back although it is mentioned otherwise. To summarize, I think shopping on the internet is a better choice in this era due to health reasons and it helps to ease people’s lives from their busy schedules.