Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water, the basic essentiality of life to which no alternative is possible, has not only became scarce but whatever is left has started to get extremely polluted. From people in under developed countries dying of thirst to powerful industrialists using rivers and lakes as dumping ground, water resources have seen alll kinds of gut wrenching scenarios. The issue at hand remains how the bare minimum water left with the world is getting polluted and what effects is it going to leave on the present and future generations. The fresh water resources such as rivers, lakes and ground water are our only active sources of fresh water that humans can use to satiate their needs. However due to massive greed for encroachment of areas, no initiative for proper waste disposal industrially or at personal scale and improper cleaning programs, the polution level of them has risen immensly and left various sources unfit for consumption. Seas, oceans and glaciers have not been spared either. Unregulated waste disposal due to commercial activities have polluted them also. Various oceans and their ecosystem have been roggered by oil slicks, plastic wastes and untreated sewage. These water bodies that hold the key to human generations present and future are being exploited in a way that they shall be rendered either dried up or polluted in a way that they would become un usable. While the future generations will definitely pay the price of the present generations greed to expolit this resource, it is possible that the present generation ay also die of scarcity of usable water. Such effects are being seen in various areas where many people are dying of lack of clean water to drink or use. These problems related to pollution of water bodies are increasing and piling up day after day and have reached to a point where solving them has become urgent. Any delay would further pile these problemss up to an extent that they would seem unscalable. it is essential that each and every section of human population contributes to solving this problem. The government bodies need to think, pass and execute bills to regulate usage of these water resources. The industries need to set up better waste management systems while at a personal level each person must conserve water and make sure he/she does not pollute any water body in any ways. Only then can present generations sustain themselves while leaving a scope for future generations to be able to live.