Success Is Often Measured By Wealth And Material Possessions

Nowadays, financial prosperity and material assets are considered as crucial measures of success. In my opinion, wealth can definitely indicate success but it is not the only measure of it. In this essay, I will explain how success can be measured and the factors contributing to it. There is no denying the fact that wealth could be an indicator of success. This is because wealthy people can buy just about anything and enjoy their life to the fullest. By contrast, poor people have to struggle to fulfill even their basic needs and hence wealth is definitely a measure of success. However, just because someone is wealthy, they cannot always be considered successful. For example, they could have inherited the wealth and in this case their prosperity is not the fruit of their labour and they cannot claim that it is their success. There are also many wealthy people who lead miserable lives because their money could not buy them happiness. This clearly shows that money is not always the best measure of a person’s success. As for the factors contributing to success, they differ from person to person. For someone, it might mean being self-sufficient and for another one, it could be achieving a life goal or building a home. Thus, success, obviously, depends upon the priorities of a person. Even so, there are certain factors that everyone needs to be successful and happy and they include good health, the right mindset and family support. Without health there is not much we can achieve. Likewise, we need a winning attitude that will keep us going even in the most challenging situations. Family relations are also important for most people to feel happy about themselves and their life. To sum up, success can mean different things to different people and hence abundant wealth alone cannot be considered as the main indicator of it. In my opinion, success of a person should be evaluated according to their goals and priorities in life.