Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

The analysis shows that many young people nowadays tend to communicate online rather than seeing each other face to face. The main reason for this is that they are on their phones all the time, and the possible solution is to create more leisure activities for them. Teenagers these days are normally active on their mobile phones for hours which is very addictive and harmful to the way they socialize with the people. They spend their entire time chatting, commenting and sharing everything on social media like Facebook, Instagram, Twitters and so on. For instance, my students who are 13 to 17 years old usually use Tik Tok or Facebook everyday since they wake up in the morning. They can talk to me easily on Messenger, yet they seem to be shy and less concentrated when I meet them in real person. They sometimes find it hard to express their ideas as words because when they use all the social apps, they never talk to their friends they just type what they want to say. In my view, it can lead to a society that people in the future will not converse with each other more in the gathering, yet they will use their phones in the family. The parents can not take away the phones from them as they are already addicted to using it for socializing. It is tricky to deal with this problem, yet we still can do something to reduce the amount of time they use it. Firstly, it should start from the parents who can control their children. The mothers and fathers could limit the time that their offspring are on their cellphones. One more thing, the parents can also educate the children on how to use the phones for the benefits not harm. After that, the children should be willing to cooperate with their own parents by knowing that it would be dangerous for them to use the phones all the time. We can not reduce the time they are on the phones only by getting it but we should have time more with them like playing sports, playing games, and other activities that can improve the relationship between them and other people in the houses. To conclude, using the phones excessively can be a harmful threat to the teenager's ability to socialize, and we should make time more for them by creating any kinds of leisure activities to reduce the time that they spend on the phones.