Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison so they can get a job when they leave prison.

Unemployment and illiteracy are indisputably the significant reasons for crimes globally. A section of people hold an opinion that educating inmates in jails is the best way to eradicate crime and provide employment to them. I disagree with the above opinion as I think educating prisoners is a good way to reduce crime activities, however, it is not the best way to do so. In this essay I will discuss my view point by indicating few other reforms. Firstly, though equipping people in prison with vocational skills is beneficiary when they are released, due to societal taboo about past convicts, numerous people are not offered jobs. Hence, government should also create awareness and create new jobs for youth along with offering them financial aide if they want to start their own business. For instance, some non-profit organizations like ''Asha'' are established by reformed criminals who choose to do right by others, where they provide employment opportunities to ex-inmates. Government should fund and encourage such initiatives to curb these taboo. A plethora of re-offends happen due to improper rehabilitation. Rehabilitation measure goals should not only possess empowering criminals through literacy rather they should also focus on mental disabilities and issues the cellmates are going through. Besides numerous crimes committed are rooted to some or the other mental cause associated to person resorting offence, be it victims of mental or physical abuse themselves. So, mandatory psychological evaluation and treatment to those who are in need of it should be given which helps them to face challenges in life. For instance, recently a homicide is reported regarding a wife poisoning husband because she had been being exploited over the years by him and she was depressed. In light of such incidents I feel one need to understand the prominence of Psychological health. Don't you? To conclude, I feel that the best way to eliminate criminal offences is to not letting crime happen. For this youth education should be made mandatory and strict laws should be enforced against crimes so that a person has to think hundred times before resorting to criminal offence.