Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to and exchange of information. Far from being beneficial, this is a danger to our societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that outstanding advancements in technology has brought so many benefits to our daily lives. However, apart from its advantageous impacts, I believe, many downsides have also been added into people’s lives which are mostly the repercussions of uncontrolled accessibility to gaining and sharing information. To commence with, out-of-charge and swift access to information, which is mainly performed through Internet platforms and social media, has caused myriads of dangers for our communities. Being able to upload and download any form of data using these means, people are exposed to fake information that may spell disaster in their lives in many respects. In fact, the more Internet users are exposed to false information, which are forged by those with evil intentions, the more they are likely to be misguided by rumors or manipulative accounts. Take patients suffering from acute diseases and intend to search for their illness’ symptoms via Google search engine as an example; the false health advices about potential medical treatments that are presented in many websites and social media accounts may mislead them easily and put their health condition in jeopardy. Furthermore, the lack of ample surveillance on these information broadcasting streams, including the Internet, Satellite or TV channels may cause a number of cyber-crimes targeting families with teenagers and youngsters. In other words, being more susceptible to be deceived by offenders, teenagers are highly likely to fall into criminals’ traps and tricks. For instance, teenagers that were interested in playing a specific online game called Blue Whale, were deceived and coerced to commit suicide merely because it was one of the rules of that evil game. This could had been prevented provided that authorities had monitored these contents meticulously and had restrained accessibility to them entirely. In conclusion, it is my firm conviction that although technological advancements have revolutionized our lifestyles in a number of positive ways, it has also jeopardized many people’s lives, which should not be neglected.