Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the most controversial subjects among both scholars and citizens is whether education can decrease the crime rate or not. Whereas some individuals highly argue that the crime rate and higher education have a converse relationship, others argue that the reduced crime rate has nothing to do with the higher education level. However, for the sake of this essay, I highly support the second group’s theory. Higher education level can not only have no impact on the crime rate but may also elucidate the crime path for many criminals. It might seem to be right that the higher the education of a person, the lower the chance of committing a crime will be. According to the latest psychological and criminological studies, in the University of Michigan, committing a crime or becoming a criminal can be addictive. While some people commit unlawful behaviors only because they have poor financial status, many convicts tend to have unlawful behaviors only because they enjoy them. According to that research, the level of testosterone and adrenaline, two of the most important hormones in the human body, are highly boosted when criminals are committing their wrong behaviors. After a few times, these felons will have a sense of satisfaction by continuing their criminal acts. As a result, most criminals do not commit felony just because they have poor financial status, they commit crimes because of the sheer joy of it. Higher education, especially in the field of information technology and computer sciences, will widen the horizons of criminals and allow them to explore new criminal activities. Hackers, for instance, is one of these people. Every year, banks and financial organizations spend billions of dollars on their security that can be threatened by highly educated computer gigs. Another example is the educated electrical engineers, whose adrenaline level will be reached to a high level by committing crimes. These people can easily defuse the alarm and anti-theft systems. To conclude, education can upgrade criminals’ knowledge and make them unbeatable. To conclude, no matter how educated criminals become, as long as the morality has not been elucidated for them, they will remain in their former occupations for the rest of their lives.