Many governments spend a lot of money on art. Some people think this investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is generally accepted that art enriches society and plays a valuable role in its culture and history. Although some support government investment in galleries, arts organizations, and other art-related matters, others feel that this money should be spent on public services. In this essay, I will consider both views and explain why I agree that state funding of the arts should be redirected. Those who support government funding usually argue that it is essential to maintain a healthy arts scene. In Australia, the government pours millions of dollars into this sector, with the National Gallery alone receiving over $8 million annually. Such institutions, it is claimed, are pillars of society, and money from the government makes them more accessible. Indeed, it is free to enter most public galleries and museums in Australia, thanks to the government’s support. Smaller arts groups and emerging artists also benefit from government funding, and without it, many worry that arts bodies would not survive and that society would be poorer for it. There are others, however, myself included, who feel that these fears are unfounded and that taxpayers’ money would be more wisely spent on services that benefit the entire community. Already, many arts organizations not only survive but thrive without government handouts. The Museum of Old and New Art in Tasmania, for instance, is the state’s major tourist attraction, despite earning money solely from ticket sales and private investors. This kind of self-sufficiency supports the claim that state money should instead go to hospitals which could certainly use more staff, more wards, and better technology, or schools where the money could be put towards updating facilities, hiring more teachers, or improving their resources. These are services used by every citizen and, in many cases, they are severely underfunded. In conclusion, even though state support of the arts has been a long tradition, there are many other ways for artists and organizations to raise funds. It is more important for the government to spend on vital services such as education and healthcare.