Many governments spend a lot of money on art. Some people think this investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, more and more people are indulging in the creative world. While It is argued by some that it is superior to spend money on sectors like education and health rather than art, I tend to disagree. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints and the reasons why investment in art is equally important. On the one hand, some people believe that the government's focus should be on necessities like schooling ad health services as numerous people in various countries are still deprived of these basic services. In India, for instance, a study conducted by Cambridge University revealed that 30% of the population have not completed their primary education. Hence, it is argued that the funds should be directed to the essentials rather than creative areas. On the other hand, it is believed that investment in art and culture is also necessary as it enhances cognitive skills in children and adults which assists them in problem-solving, learning new skills, and so on throughout their life. For example, an article issued by the New York Times stated that 70% of the individuals who are involved in art also are more flexible and are better at grasping new skills and tools. Therefore, it is believed for the overall growth of the people and the country, money should be spent on all the sectors in a balanced way. To conclude, although some believe it is better to allot finances towards health section and educating people, in my opinion, art, and culture is also essential and thus all the investment should be made in right proportion.