Students tend to obtain degrees abroad

Deciding on the place at which the college students take their tertiary education is becoming more remarkable than before. While there was a tendency before of completing a university degree in one's own country, it is believed that this preference has been changed so far, and its merits outnumber its demerits, which will be further discussed. On the one hand, pursuing a degree in a particular discipline in a nation that is known for having expertise in that discipline can bring some benefits to the origin country. To illustrate, when a scholar gains a degree in a special field that his country needs, his town will profit from his knowledge, and eventually, help it to raise its economy. Many Arabs, for example, are sending their youth to developed countries to acquire certain skills that they need to improve their country’s amenities such as engineering. In addition, living overseas and being exposed to different cultures boost an individual’s interpersonal skills which are required in almost all corporates today. Therefore, not only does this notion evolve nations, but also individuals. On the other hand, traveling to foreign countries and leaving one’s home may cause a brain drain. In other words, if a person took the learning period as a chance to abandon his hometown, his town would unlikely utilize his abilities, and as a result, its economy would fall due to the rule of less-ingenious people. For instance, some poor country’s citizens suffer low quality of life, and consequently, resort to migrating instead of returning back and assisting their homeland. Hence, what can be said is that residing in rich states might be appealing. In conclusion, after this essay has provided the aforesaid views, it can be seen that this trend has its drawbacks but indeed not as many as its favors. It can be restated that although it is instrumental to experience basing in other countries, a brain drain may suddenly occur.