Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To that extent do you agree with this statement?

People have various reasons in choosing their major in the university. Some of them consider to choose a major which promises high salary job after they graduated. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement. Firstly and foremost, high-paying career promised by a certain major does not guarantee we will get the job right after we finished our study. We should put our friends who graduated in the same year with us as consideration. Furthermore, if our friends have a better qualifications than us, our opportunity to get the job would be lower. As a clear example, based on the survey conducted by The New York Times in 2019 found out that companies would rather choose fresh graduates with satisfying non-academic experiences as well as high scores in academic. Secondly, a major which provides knowledge that addressed specifically to the student’s country problem would be much more relevant. The students will, indeed, apply their knowledge to overcome the challenges in their home country. By working together with the policy makers, the society, as well as the governments, they can tackle the issues hand by hand. As the result, a better and more developed society will be created in the near future. To put in a nut shell, though some majors in the university prepare their students for high salary job, but there are numerous reasons we should put this consideration aside. Rather than considering about salary, the opportunity in getting the job as well as how we can apply our knowledge will be wise to get more attention.