Many animals are facing extinction in the wild. Why is this happening? What can be done to protect them?

An increasing number of wildlife species have become endangered in the recent past. Extensive poaching of wild animals for their valuable organs has led to species endangerment, and this illegal hunting of animals should be stopped by the government to protect them. Animals have been illegally hunted by poachers for many years now. The continued killing of a particular species will eventually lead to extinction. These hunted species have high reputations and values for their body parts in the fashion market mostly in the form of clothes and decorative items. Products like leather belts, fur coats, and hand bags require animal skins including tigers, leopards, crocodiles, and snakes which provokes the hunters to kill them for money. For example, Bengal Tigers, in spite of their fewer numbers, are enormously hunted purely for their skin and teeth. To save wild animals from extinction, poaching should be banned by the government. Although the government has plenty of acts and laws, they are not as severe as it should be. Wildlife protection laws should be advertised to make the offenders aware of the punishment and its severity. In addition, the government should increase the number of forest officers to patrol and monitor human activities in the wildlife to safeguard the animals. For instance, the government of Thailand proposed strict laws against illegal Elephant hunting, which resulted in a significant increase in the number of Elephants in the following years. In conclusion, Human interference such as illegal hunting is the major cause of species becoming endangered or extinct. Government laws and acts should serve punishments of a higher order which would stop the poachers from harming them in the future.