Students in single-sex schools perform better

It is well-established that a school sets the foundation of one's personality. The role of a school in shaping people's future can not be denied. It is widely accepted that children who attend school turn out to be well-behaved, social and aware individuals. However, it has always been debatable what kind of schools are best suited for the children. There are usually two kinds of schools around the world. First, the ones which accept only single-sex students such as all-girls or all-boys. Second, the ones which allow girls, boys and children from other genders to study together. It is certain that both kinds play different roles in shaping a student's future. Some people strongly believe that single-sex schools are a better choice because students are likely to perform better academically while other believe that mixed schools are better because they provide the social skills a student could in his/her adult life. Although both opinions are strongly supported by different sections of people, I lean more toward the latter. I strongly believe that mixed schools are a better choice than the single-sex schools. My views are backed by my own experience. I was admitted to an all-girls school for a brief time before being admitted to a co-education school, including students from all genders. Before joining the co-education school, it was difficult for me to interact with kids from opposite gender. There was always a hesitation because I didn't hold any practical experience of interacting with kids from opposite gender. Later, after joining the co-education school where talking to opposite gender students was a normal thing, it made me realize that there is nothing shy away from and that there is more to people that just their gender. The society we live in has already created enough gender bias. While patriarchy is a harsh reality, a single-sex school doesn't contribute much towards breaking it. If a student grows up with similar sex students, it is highly unlikely that he/she would be able to learn how to treat a person of opposite gender. It will further create awkwardness when it comes to interacting with opposite gender people. A student who grew up with mixed gender students, will definitely be able to know the opposite gender better and would know how to treat them. This leads to establishing equality among different genders. As much as students would grow up to respect the opposite gender people, they would also be able to understand that there is more to it than just being a boy or a girl. In current times, gender equality is a huge thing. As much as it is important that men and women are treated equally, it is equally important that other genders are given their place in the society. It can only be achieved when this thinking is laid in the foundation of growing kids and mixed schools are one way of enabling it.