Students attending courses besides their field of study

Asking university students to participate in courses outside their field of study. At the first glance it sounds like a very productive and encouraging plan. But we need to take a look at it with different perspectives to be able to evaluate all its impacts. When we talk about university students, we can classify them in various groups based on different factors. For instance the reason they joined academia, not everyboyd enter college for the same reason. In a same classroom u might encounter students with a wide range of interests, eventhough they are all in the same class attending the same courses, but each one of them can have their own reasons for that and not all of them necessarily expecting the same prospects for themselves. In a typical group of students, there are always a group which are extremely passionate about the field of their study; This group tend to have a life-long intention of joining academia in a specific field of study. These students usually tend to show some sort of a bias towards their field of study. We all probably have encountered those groups of senior students who get into a defensive state and show a sense of rivalry towards students from other majors. Most of these students often think of their field as the most important one and some of them might bellitle what other students do in other disciplines. If universities are about to ask their students to tend courses besides their own, this group of students should be treated with precaution. Giving them a better understanding of the bigger picture and elaborating about the philosophy of knowledge and how it is constructed so far might be a good start to help them get rid of their biases that might prevent them from utilizing the offered courses at its best. If theses student be put in another class without the mentioned preparation they might be very unhappy and nuesance for the lecturer; And this is not something anybody wants including the lecturer and other students who are there to gain something. Back to our classification of students, there are also another set of students with the same passion but without that bias of self-importance. These group of students have a proclivity to interdisciplinary topics and are eager to science and they respect acamedics in all range of topics and subjects. If universities supposeed to require their students to attend some other classes outside their own faculty, this group of students probably will be the most satisfied group and will take advantage of this plan to the fullest. After these two group of academia enthusiasts, there is also a range of students that are there simply because of the social norms or just simply because their parents asked them to. Students belonging to this category share some sort of an indifference towards whats happening in the classroom, that group of students who are always waiting for the session to be over since the first minute. When it comes to forcing students to be in classes in new subjects, these group of student might resist at first and look for ways to circumnavigate this situation or just take it as another norm that they tend to obey and just be in the new classes with the same indifference and will be the same lethargic and bored member of the class again. Besides all these categorizations, the idea that students should participate in courses besides their own is a useful one, mostly because in past few decades a certain trend can be traced that most of the faculties and most of the academic institutions are moving toward an interdisciplinary approach. But noticing this fact is seemingly vital that forcing a group of people such as students might not always goes as planned, and giving them a grasp of this bigger picture about joint academia might be a good start. And to prevent the adverse effect of ''you HAVE to" pursue these courses, we can replace it with you "CAN" attend these courses and whoever who does that or come up with an interdisciplinary project can get some extra points.