And that brings us to today’s expression -- to have your day in the sun. We use it a couple of different ways. When you have your day in the sun, you have achieved the highest possible level of success. You are at your peak. You are having a heyday. You are at your pinnacle or zenith of success. These words are all synonyms: They mean nearly the same. In terms of meaning a period of success, to have a day in the sun can be more specific. ”

And that brings us to today’s expression -- to have your day in the sun. We use it a couple of different ways. When you have your day in the sun, you have achieved the highest possible level of success. You are at your peak. You are having a heyday. You are at your pinnacle or zenith of success. These words are all synonyms: They mean nearly the same. In terms of meaning a period of success, to have a day in the sun can be more specific. It can be a brief period of time when a person becomes very successful or popular compared to the rest of their otherwise not-very-successful or popular life. So, something new has happened to throw them into the spotlight, or rather … sunlight. Sometimes these periods of time are much shorter than a day. They last for only a moment. So, with this expression, you can also say “a moment in the sun. ”