Children spend more time on computer games and less on sports. Why? What do you think it is positive or negetive development

In this contemporary epoch, it is indispensable to say that, majority of juveniles are indulged in dealing with technological equipment rather than doing recreational activity. It is widely acknowledged that, nowadays, spending time on outdoor sports by the young generation has become obsolete and has been superseded by computerized playing things. This essay will not only discuss the reasons behind this notion but also justify why it is a negative development. To embark with, there are multifarious reasons why children are spending an ample amount of time playing computer games. First and foremost is, with the advent of technology most computer video games have attractive graphics and animation effects. As a result, it captivates the young generation not only to spend more time playing the computerized game but also to complete different stages involved in a particular game by playing it continuously. Another prominent reason would be, some of the video games in the present era are developed to increase the intelligence of children which is not generated by playing outdoor sports. To cite an example, it was comprehensively reported in one of the surveys of Computer and Education that, the players who played Portal 2 video games enhanced their problem solving as well as cognitive abilities. However, due to the rampant spending of time on playing video games, there are also some negative effects associated with this notion. The prime one is, it can create immense detrimental effects on health. To exemplify, it was meticulously studied in one of the experiments on children that spending more than 3-4 hours playing computer games has resulted in causing strain in their eyes and also in their behaviors. Secondly, it makes children isolated from society which is not to happen in playing sports which helps to increase the proximity among the community. To recapitulate, many youngsters are devoting their leisure time to playing electronic games which eventually helps them to think beyond their conventional domain. However, the drawbacks associated with this trend like health issues and isolation from their loved ones cannot be overlooked.